King Cake Nightmares

I’m starting to crack! 😀

There was another big king cake on the grazing table this morning. Normally sweets aren’t my thing. I gained most of my weight with fast food and soft drinks.  From time to time I like some ice cream but fast food and chips and soft drinks got me to my max weight.

But lately, I’ve been craving something sweet so all these dang giant-sized king cakes are starting to get to me.

Weight Statistics

323/167.7/165

Tiny gain this morning. After a couple of good days, I was expecting a slight uptick. I’m nervous about tomorrow. I think I went a tad overboard with the seasoning on the chicken and I feel like I could drink a gallon of water.  My calories were fine but I think my sodium intake might do me in tomorrow morning.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Chicken

Lunch – None

Dinner – Chicken with salad

Snack – Turkey burger, pepper jack sticks

Calories – 1400

I had a little kitchen mishap yesterday….. I forgot I put some turkey burgers into the oven and ….

That burger looks great compared to the tiny charred remains of the turkey burgers I removed from the oven.  I didn’t have anymore burgers so off to the store I headed after work this evening where I was greeted by…. MORE

I’m not sure I can take almost 4 more weeks of this. Mardi Gras can’t end soon enough. 😛

In case you are getting hungry after seeing all of the king cake, I thought I would help out with a picture of Lutefisk. Lutefisk (pronounced LEWD-uh-fisk) is dried cod that has been soaked in a lye solution for several days to rehydrate it.  Blurp!

Tip Of The Day

Sodium is probably going to make me start Tuesday off even grumpier than normal.  Sodium can make your weight bounce up and down all over the place. If you have read my blog for a while, you already know it can cause me to gain a big pile of weight if I eat too much sodium.

Beware salty foods, especially those marketed as healthy…..

Soup… one can of beef vegetable can hit you with almost your full RDA for sodium. Cambell’s has done a fantastic job tricking people into thinking their soup is healthy. Some might be, but 2500 mgs for a can of soup is not healthy and nobody in the right mind eats half a cup of soup for lunch or dinner.

Restaurant food might not taste overly salty but  Chili’s fajita chicken quesadilla with rice and black beans, sour cream and pico de gallo has 5,300 milligrams of salt. Eek! I wonder how much salt the chicken fajitas at Casa Garcia are loaded up with.

Raisin bran has almost 400 mgs. That one surprises me.

Ha! The McDonald’s healthy Caesar salad has almost 900 mgs but french fries only have 350. 😛

What the heck! Even when you think you are eating healthy, you need to read labels and check sodium levels. Some of those healthy items could be MUCH higher in sodium than you think. I know something I ate today was MUCH too high in sodium. The scale might groan from excess weight tomorrow.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/king-cake-nightmares/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think this is where I should be thankful I do NOT live in a place where these king cakes are prevalent…

  2. Sodium can be a real kicker. I kinda have to MAKE everything from scratch just to survive. Most processed or commercial food is WAY too salty. I think you are lighter than me now. I am not getting on the scales until my folks leave. If I have a meltdown I want to do it alone. 😀 well, on my blog and with Mikey, but by myself. niters.

    Hang in there with the cake. Salt makes all backed or sweet goods taste WAY BETTER.

    • Grrrr! I’m really not sure what happened this morning. Up almost a pound. I didn’t eat anything out of the norm so I have no idea where the extra sodium came from. Dang. Office weigh-in is tomorrow so this weight better drop by tomorrow or I am going to be Super Grumpy.

  3. I have nominated you for the versatile blogger award.. : )
    The rules are on my latest blog. You keep me smiling even when you are grumpy!


Leave a Reply

