Boring Post!

Not much going on…. I seem to be stuck this week…..

Stuck in Plateausville!!! 😛

Weight Statistics

323/168.7/165

I dipped a little bit today but I am still heavier than last Sunday (167.6) even though I didn’t cheat all week. My body is retaining water for some reason because there is no way I gained any real weight this week.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Turkey burger with cheese

Lunch – Baked chicken with salad

Dinner – Baked chicken with salad

Snack – Turkey burger with cheese

Calories – 1450

Another good day of eating. I’m sick of this plateau. I still have a slight lead over Gail in the office competition but she only needs to lose 1 pounds to pass me. 25% of the way through and I think Gail is the only serious competition unless a dark horse emerges. One of the other competitors is in the National Guard and he needs to lose some weight or he is out of the Guard so he has some serious motivation.  He could emerge as the underdog and I wouldn’t mind losing to him if he gets to stay in the Guard.

Computer Update 

I’ve decided to buy all of the components and build my own computer. I can save about $500 and have an awesome system BUT…… This could be more frustrating than the Bike Incident at Walmart (see early March of 2011).

From the reviews I have read… it seems that computer components are DEAD ON ARRIVAL (DOA) quite often.  I may pull the trigger tomorrow so the components should arrive in time for me to work on it next weekend.

Keep your fingers crossed and say a few prayers.  I need 9 components to arrive safely and undamaged. I don’t like those odds.

I’ve used NewEgg in the past for electronics so I plan to use them to buy everything. The seem to be pretty good about solving problems when they arise. When my monitor died several months back, I ordered from NewEgg and received it the next day even though I didn’t use next day shipping.

Now NewEgg owes me money for that little plug, but alas I am still waiting on my Taco Bell money for the zillion times I mentioned them on this here little site. 😛

Tip Of The Day

Plateaus – What To Do?

I don’t know. 😛

I kid. 😛

There are a few schools of thought when you hit a plateau.

1. Wait it out.

2. Exercise more.

3. Fast.

4. Binge.

I’ve tried all of them in the past.  Many times, I was told that to kickstart my metabolism, I need to have a big calorie day to fool my body into thinking the famine was over. I used this as an excuse to hit Taco Bell a few times. In the end, all I did was gain a pile of weight and then I needed to lose that which took several days.  Had I just kept doing the right things, I probably would have broken the plateau in less time than it took to lose the Taco Bell weight.

I understand the concept but think it probably takes longer to lose the binge weight than to just plod ahead doing the same thing.

Exercising more can help speed the metabolism, but as you know I don’t like pushing exercise because it can lead to burn out.

Fasting for a short period can actually help but for some people, they try a fast and then get so hungry that they end up cheating and going crazy.

At the end of the day, I think the best way to push through the plateau is to stick with your diet, and normal exercise routine. Eventually your body will respond. In theory….. 😛

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

The Grumpy Man

Published in: on January 27, 2012 at 9:07 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/boring-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You know how I break platueas? I have a day or two of just eating whatever I feel like eating, and then restart my diet. It always seems to jump start me back into losing weight. I may gain a pound or two for that day (typically water weight from sodium) but by the end of the week I am always down 3 or 4 pounds!

  2. Maybe eating something entirely different for a few days will get things stir up. Noticed that your diet is pretty much the same every day.

  3. I think you should pull all your hair out and run around your apartment yelling wildly. That should kick start something. 😉 At the very least you will probably get picked up by the straight jacket police. It could be an adventure.

    You know I am kidding.

    Take a break from just carb free. Don’t go to Taco Bell. Don’t eat everything you can hold carb wise. Add in a few more veggies — low glycemic fruit. Berries and the like. Maybe this would give your body the break it needs without all the weight gain. 🙂 Worth a shot.

    otherwise I would just hold out where you are.

    • I’m too lazy to post tonight but the plateau broke this morning with a 2 pound drop. I hope it sticks but I ate a wee bit too much salt today so I am nervous about tomorrow. 😛


Leave a Reply

