Not the moon……PLUTO!!!

After a few days of Easter gluttony, my weight soared far beyond the moon and I waved to poor Pluto as I exited our Solar System.

Weight Statistics

323/176.7!!!/159.9

It took me a little longer than I wanted to get back on the rails. I was going to be good yesterday after eating everything in sight on Friday and Saturday but some blueberry muffins and Ice Cream somehow apparated in my apartment.

I’ve noticed a major shift in my cheats. My brain has switched from the salty savory snack to the sweet. No more craving taco bell. My brain jumps to ice cream and cake the second I start thinking about cheating. Maybe it has something to do with 2 years of carb restrictions. With the summer heat approaching, I am nervous about this shift to ICE CREAM.

I am over my 175 panic weight. Normally I would immediately shift back to Atkins, but not yet. Heck, I just started by carb menu. I’ve got at least 8 days before I jump back into Atkins. The good news is that I don’t have any planned cheats coming up anytime soon. I should be able to go 2 weeks without cheating. I am going to stay away from the office lunch (well, unless the seafood feast makes an appearance).

It will be interesting to see how much I drop eating about 1400 calories a day on full carbs. I need to cut my fruit consumption down a bit at work. I need to get down from 6 pieces to 3 or 4 max.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Oatmeal (maple sugar flavor)

Lunch – Beans with salad

Dinner – Turkey burger with red beans and rice

Snack – Oatmeal

Calories – 1330

That menu is super low in sodium so I should be able to drop off some of the crawfish boil weight pretty fast.

I dropped the sausage from the menu because a tiny piece of sausage is 500 mgs of sodium and two turkey burgers are 400. On weekends, I get to eat 2 burgers but tonight it will be just one.

The Bike

 I have the day off today so I am going to try to force myself out for a ride. It is time to get out there again. I haven’t touched my bike since I started work back on December 7th. No excuses! Plenty of light outside and no longer cold. In fact, I’ve waited so long, it is almost too hot. 😛

The wind will probably kill me, but I think I need to start getting out there for 2 to 3 rides a week. There is plenty of light by the time I get home to get a 1 hour ride done before the mosquitos lay siege to the levee.

I will ride! I will ride!!! I will ride!!!!

Hopefully posting that will give me the push to get out there.

Tip Of The Day

Low Carbers

You need to know a little known fact.

The second you go back to eating carbs, you will gain 10 pounds. Maybe a little less, maybe a little more. I promise you. It will happen. The first 10 pounds you lose on Atkins is nothing but water with maybe a small amount of fat loss.

Atkins is a natural diuretic. It drains all of the excess water out of your system. This is a fact.

Every time I move out of Atkins, I gain 10 pounds faster than I can type “gain 10 pounds!”

The second you leave Atkins….

Yup! You will blow up faster than a blow fish or Violet Beauregarde. There is no real way to get around the water bloat that happens when you move back to carbs. The only way to combat the SHARP climb up is to lose 5 to 10 pounds beyond your goal. If you want to lose 20, then you need to lose 30.

Just a heads up. A few ladies at work didn’t believe me until they cheated on their low carb diet and gained an insane amount in a short time. Mostly water but It is shocking to see how fast it creeps back up.

I drink the equivalent of 8 pounds of liquid a day so it is very easy for my body to have insane fluctuations if I have too much sodium or move out of ketosis.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/not-the-moon-pluto/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I went back to look at your past entries and saw that you have been going through this same binge-diet process over and over again since you lost the bulk of your weight. I am of course, very familiar with the lifestyle, I did it myself fro nearly 30 years. At some point, though, you’ll need to start thinking about finding a balance. It will be beneficial to your health to stop the yo-yo-ing. It has never been recommended to bounce between low carb and high carb from any source. Finding balance is the key to managing your weight. You’ve introduced high carbs back in your diet and woke up the sleeping dragon (cravings). It doesn’t matter if it is through fruit (sugar is sugar). Look at how you are fluctuating between high calorie days and severe restriction (1200 calories is severe when counter balanced with bingeing). I have done all these things myself, been there so many times. The only solution that finally worked for me was to stop playing the mind games, stop excusing bad choices (who are you kidding with sodium excuse and Atkins bring back on the weight through fluids? Only yourself) and stay steady on in my food intake, every single day. No cheat days, no ultra low anything days. Remember that focusing so hard on the scale, you are missing all the wisdom your body is trying to convey to you. Your daily tips and photo’s are all cute, but in the end, this extreme bouncing back and forth is only going to make you sick. Being thin or a normal weight does not guarantee health. Where are you going with all this? If you like low carb, make it your lifestyle without cheats. If you want the carbs, find your balance that helps you maintain your loss. I predict that if you don’t find your balance, you are slated to regain it all. I did. I kept my 120 pound loss off for 7 years doing exactly what you are doing, being miserable each and every day because it felt like a struggle…..until I finally gave up and shot up to 317 miserable pounds. I am now at 238, but I refuse to play the games anymore. I found what works for me and working it every day as this is finally my lifestyle and not a diet. Best wishes, I hope you find your foundation to good health.

    • First off, the only time I really binge has been during holidays which are exempt. I tend to exaggerate a bit when I say eleventy billion calories. I also haven’t been close to averaging 1200 calories in a long long time.

      Getting the weight off was the most important step and yes finding balance will be the next step.

      The Atkins excuse as you call it, is not an excuse. I’ve gained 10 pounds of water eating 1200 calories of carbs. It is a REALITY that while in ketosis you toss off excess water and once you move back to burning carbs as your main engine, you do add back up to 10 pounds of water. That is a fact. I’ve now been under 180 for 1 solid year so I think I know what works for me even if it does not work for you.

      If you have read back on my blog you would see I don’t push the low carb life although I do give tips from time to time for people who do. Each person needs to find a diet and balance that works for them. my 30 day average has done nothing but move down for 2 years. It is working for me and it will continue to work for me as it has for 2 years.

      By the way, I haven’t been remotely miserable for 2 years because I allow myself cheats from time to time. Most of those times have been under 2500 calories so I don’t think that constitutes binge eating.

      Good luck with continued success on your diet.

    • Oh and the sodium is not an excuse either. Most days I am under 1400 mgs and when I eat something super salty like the Wednesday lunch it is a fact I can bounce up 3 pounds even if my calories are under 2000.

  2. Yeah, I kinda think that any diet change causes fluctuations. I know that is what they teach with OptiFast, and they measure sodium gain and tell us often NOT to stress over that just look at the overall goals. Almost everyone who moves back toward a “normal” eating pattern that includes some fun foods will have shifts.

    Well, maybe I feel this way because that is what I have dealt with since January. I am mostly stable, but figuring out how to eat with working out has been a HUGE challenge. Grumps — keep workin’ yo thang! 😀


Leave a Reply

