The Bike!!!

Bike Update

Woot! I tried to come up with any and every excuse possible to stay away from the levee but I couldn’t come up with anything, so off I went on a bike ride for the first time in almost 5 months.

The wind…… how I missed thee!!!

The trees weren’t moving but it sure felt like it was blowing pretty hard. Β Not only that, but the darn wind seemed to be coming from every direction. It was blowing my shirt like a kite in a hurricane on the way out and it was blowing my shirt like a kite in a hurricane on the way back. πŸ˜›

I’m not sure how that is even possible. It was very annoying.

My plan was to start slow. I haven’t been on a ride in 5 months so I am sure I’ve lost a good bit of my bike shape. I was going to turn around at the 3 mile marker, but instead of doing that, I kept going to the 5 mile mark.

Trail Marker 410 – 10 miles

My legs were rubber by the time I got back to the apartment. I barely made it up the stairs before my knees were a wobbly mess. I plan to ride on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday. I might not have enough daylight yet to get the full 10 done before the mosquitos go into attack mode.

Weight Statistics

323/172.5/159.9

I dropped about 4 pounds this morning. All water weight. The ride plus a low sodium Monday, helped knock some of that water weight off. I hope I can knock a little more off tomorrow.

If you read the comments from yesterday, I’ve got another person telling me I did it all wrong and I am going to gain all the weight back.

Aw geez!!!

My new friend also told me that water weight and leaving Ketosis are just an excuse for my poor eating habits.

I’m not sure why people feel the need to tell me this. Especially 2 years into my diet.

1. Water weight from sodium is real. I can eat 2500 calories and gain 3 pounds on Wednesday. It is impossible to gain 3 pounds of fat on 2500 calories. That is sodium water weight.

2. Atkins IS a natural diuretic. The first time I hit 165, I gained 10 pounds when I moved out of Ketosis even though I averaged under 1500 calories. Once again impossible, unless moving back to the car engine causes water gain.

I’ve Β been doing this for 2 years. It seems to be working for me. I’ve not only continued to LOSE weight but I’ve kept it off. Β Just because you failed doesn’t mean I will. I wish you the best, but you couldn’t be more wrong if you tried. Or maybe you can. Maybe you are really good at it. πŸ˜›

I kid. I kid. πŸ˜›

Tip Of The Day

You need to get thick skin. At some point, you will have people tell you that you are doing things wrong and will gain it all back unless you do it THEIR way. Don’t pay any attention to the knuckleheads. Β Keep doing what works for you.

Heck I admit all the time that I still have a fat brain and I need to learn to dial it back a notch during holidays. That is where I am at the moment. First, I needed to lose the weight. Now I need to learn to keep it off. Β Seems to be working for me.

Oh and my new friend said I would be less miserable if I was doing it the right way. Do any of my long time readers think I come off as remotely miserable??? Grumpy from time to time but nothing close to miserable.

Oh well, I need to take my own advice and let the snarky comments roll off of me as easy as that WATER WEIGHT this morning. πŸ˜›

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Raisin Spice Oatmeal

Lunch – Fruit

Dinner – Turkey burger with beans and rice and salad

Snack – Fruit

Calories – 1300

I was able to knock my fruit consumption down some today. I still need to drop one more piece and I should be good to go. I’m loving the oatmeal, fruit and beans and rice. I could do without the Turkey burgers but sausage is simply too high in sodium and the portion is too small.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/the-bike/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey great deal man! Stinks that people are downing what you are doing. I have learned that everybody has something to offer, so I look for that in everybody. By the way you should do some indoor cycling man I don’t know how you can stay off your bike for 5 WHOLE MONTHS!

    • “I don’t know how you can stay off your bike for 5 WHOLE MONTHS!”

      If I was super active, I never would have got all the way up to 323. πŸ˜€

      Plus, I started a new job with 10 hour days.

      Heck, even now when I get home, I only have about 45 minutes of light and the levee becomes a serious mosquitos fest at dusk.

      I agree you can learn a little something from most people. I just needed a Tip Of The Day and that comment gave me an idea. πŸ˜€

  2. I have to say you do come across as grumpy haha!

  3. Whoa Grumpy, as a long time supporter, reader and hopefully friend πŸ˜‰ I have to honestly say that this reaction is a little overboard to me. While, I am not going to judge you on your diet, because you obviously feel you found something that you feel works for you and is effective I don’t think the persons comment was malicious in any way and I don’t think it’s fair to respond this way given that and the fact that some of what they said is accurate.

    It is true that your weight has been bouncing around from low 160’s to mid 170’s for the last 6 months or so. And it is true that every time it goes up you have a post about how frustratrating and angry you are. I think it is understandable that someone could infer that you were miserable from that. I certainly would.

    Also Grumpy, there are times where you have made excuses or exceptions. For example last week in one of your blogs you mentioned that you weren’t going to have any more cheats for a while and then in the very next sentence you talked about how you were going to cheat that Friday. It’s hard to take that seriously, when it sounds like you are discounting one of those cheats.

    Remember why you made this blog, your own Gravatar and statements have been that it was made to keep you accountable. These comments are how we are held accountable, myself included. It’s important to appreciate that someone cares enough that they take 10-15 minutes a day to write an honest comment whether you agree with it or not. While I think that you should keep doing what you are doing if it is working for you and I respect your choice in lifestyle, I also think it’s important for you to be honest with yourself and fair to your readers. I hope you can see that I’m trying to be a friend, it looks bad when a response like this is made to something that to a lot of people probably makes sense.

    • I,ve been well within my actual goal weight for almost a year. The only real big swings have been around holidays. You forget, i don,t count those as cheats. The real cheats are when they are unplanned. Once again, i dont consider being within range of mygoal yoyoing. I also dont appreciate someone telling me i am making excuses when it is simple fact i can gain a large amount of sodium water and also fact ketosis is a diuretic. I think you mistake my sarcastic sense of humor for real anger. The fact that i list all of my meals pretty much shows i am being accountable for my actions. Going to have to disagree with you on this one. The guy was dead wrong about water issues, i,ve dropped almost 6 in 2 days. And no, it is not helpful to tell someone they will gain it back or that they are making themself sick. Calling my pictures cute yet saying i am making excuses is inflamatory. It should be pretty clear by the funny pics that i am joking when i blame my sister for her dips.

      • Hey Grumpy, I know that and I wasn’t arguing with you about technicalities. As I said originally, you’ve obviously found something that’s working for you and shouldn’t give that up. What I was saying is that I could understand why someone who is reading what you are saying would think that you are “yoyoing” or making excuses. I don’t think that persons intent was bad. Part of why they said you may gain it back is because they were telling a personal cautionary tale about how they gained it back and kept it off for 7 years.

        While her rhetoric may not have been the smartest choice, I don’t think she was trying to be inflamatory or to cut you down. I think her intent was to tell you what happened to her so you could build off of that. It’s important to be open to what people are saying. Clearly you feel you found your path and aren’t open to that, which is alright. What I don’t agree with is the response. I don’t think it’s fair to dedicate an entire post to calling someone a “knucklehead” or that they “Failed”. I don’t think the intent was snarky but rather to provide insight into their life story. And to cut them down for their experience, if they are being honest in intent could be quite hurtful.

        Anyways, aside from that I think you are doing awesome and should keep doing what you are doing because it is very clearly working for you. My only suggestion would be to keep open to adaptation as time goes on. If you are planning to have a maintenance lifestyle that isn’t Atkins, I’m more than happy to share what’s worked for me.

    • Plus i tend to exagerrate a bit. It is very rare when my calories are over 2500 to 3000.

      3000 calories does not cause a 5 pound gain

      Sodium can cause a wild gain.

      If you think i,ve been making excuses the clearly you dont get my sense of humor.

  4. Been a while since I checked in with you… Wow. You are sure doing great! U da man!

  5. WOW … I been out a while. Grumps … keep doin’ what is workin’ for ya man. Some folks are gonna take your humor wrong man — you can’t worry about that. I know how easy it is to get riled up about folks tellin’ you it is gonna flop. It happens a lot if you do OptiFast — people feel they NEED to tell you that everyone gains their weight back. They also do this with Atkins. Atkins has a bad rap. Atkins/Paleo/Primal work and make you feel GREAT.

    They do leave you feeling like you missed out on treats though. I know I feel that way and it is how I need to eat for my blood sugar numbers. I have to throw some fun stuff in there. It is just hard when the cravings rave back up — I personally think I have an allergy to the foods that work like that on me and almost drive a person to issues with them.

    Grumps you gotta be real to yourself. Your blog is for you, about you, and your feelings. It is ok that you got real. When you get real though — folks get real back. You are right you gonna have ta let this stuff roll off like water on a ducks back. Because you are so honest about your emotions, some folks are gonna feel the need to “help” you fix them.

    Testy could have been right that she was feeling you might fall into the same trap she did–and her motivations might have been intended for your good. I know it STINKS when folks walk up and tell you what you are doing won’t work — that you are going to fail. It strikes that cord of fear in the heart of each of us battle if we used a controverisal method down the scales. Because so many who have used our methods to reduce–regain.

    We have to be mentally strong in our commitment. Even my Docs who major in this for a living react strongly to these type accusations. Don’t beat yourself up too bad about it … just learn to smile and know they are wrong about YOU. πŸ˜€

    • Agree with Shonnie on pretty much every point. Although, I do tend to assume the best of people, on second thought this is your blog and you should do whatever you think is best Grumpy. I believe in you and think you have done fantastic on your weight loss journey. I apologize if I offended you.

      • Testy, none of my comments in my emails or on the site were directed at you other than when I said some people gave me the business for being too harsh. πŸ˜€

        We are all good. πŸ˜€

      • Testy my man — you are not offensive. I would never think of you that way. I admired your strong statement. πŸ˜€

        I just happen to understand what it is like to have a LOT of people feel the need to tell me I will fail and gain all my weight back, because my method of losing won’t hold. I just have made my mind up to be the exception. I know also how bad it slaps me with fear when they say it even though I have made up my mind. That is why I wrote what I did.

        Mr. Testy — I think you are a great big sweetheart of a guy. I think believing the best of folks is WONDERFUL and good. πŸ˜€

      • Thanks Shonnie! And I totally get why you wrote that, I think everyone is different and they should do what works for them πŸ™‚

        I think both you and grumpy are inspirations and models of weight loss success!

      • Thanks man … not feeling like one right now. I know it is part of the process, but working out this whole weight loss things can be a bit trying sometimes. πŸ˜€

      • oh you totally are to me and I’m sure many other people πŸ™‚ Sometimes those trials in life create the best results, you can do whatever you set your mind to Shonnie!

      • Thanks Testy. I so needed to hear that today. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

