How The Mighty Have Fallen!!!

The May Challenge

I am the agony of defeat guy. May was not a good month for me. It looks like just about EVERYONE who entered the competition, kicked my tail. Not only did I not lose weight, I gained a couple of pounds.

June started out badly but I’m back on the Diet Wagon starting today.

Kudos to all of you who kicked my tail!

Weight Statistics

323/176.4/159.9

Last week was a total mess. The feeding frenzy started on Wednesday. Surprise beignets.

My willpower was off on vacation.

I dove into the beignets without even a slight hesitation. Then the free lunch hit around 11am. I did pretty good at first. I just had a big pile of salad and 1 piece of hamburger steak. Unfortunately, they had bread pudding for dessert. At first I skipped the pudding. Then I went back and grabbed some. Then some more. Then some more. 😛

Thursday was a decent enough day. I behaved for the most part although I did have a small piece of cake.

Friday was not so good. I made a trip down to the Chinese place down the block for lunch then I grazed on various delights at my 25th high school reunion. The reunion was fun. Nobody recognized me. One old friend of mine walked by me about 3 times and I finally grabbed him the 4th time. He looked down at my name tag and said, “no way!”

Saturday wasn’t much better. Most of the day was fine until the Ice Cream hour hit.

Tip of The Day

Diet Fatigue

I think after 25 months, my willpower evaporated. At some point you toss your hands in the air and say enough is enough. I think I hit that wall in May.

At some point we all hit that breaking point on a diet. We just toss in the towel. I’ve had some rough spots over the past two years but May was the worst. I didn’t actually gain the most weight but my willpower and diet energy evaporated.

When you hit this stage, you need to KEEP GETTING ON THE SCALE. Never stop. That mean old scale is about the only way to get back on the rails when the wheels come off.

You need to keep posting online and in your journal. As you can see, I disappeared for a few days and bad things happened.  I haven’t posted much on my sports site in the last couple of weeks. You need to keep hitting your support sites. BUT, most importantly, that scale. Seeing the numbers moving in the wrong direction is about the only way to get back on track.

I should be able to get back on track in June. Now that the reunion has passed, the only speed bump will be father’s day.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Turkey burger with cheese

Lunch – Baked pork loin

Dinner – Chicken with salad

Snack – Turkey burgers with cheese

Calories – 1650

I’m down to the last few turkey burgers. I’ve decided to stop with the Butterball burgers. With a slice of cheese those things are about 900 mgs of sodium. 2 in one day, hits me for 1800 mgs. I decided to cut back a bit on sodium again. I’ve been eating a bit too much the last couple of months.

I bought one of those GIANT pork loins from Sam’s and cooked half of one. It turned out pretty darn good. One pork loin serving only hits me with about 100 mgs of sodium or less.  300 with a slice of cheese so two portions is salt than 1 portion of turkey burgers. I should polish off the final Butterball burgers tomorrow.

Those things were much better than the Jenni-O burgers. I liked the Jenni burgers but they are pumped full of broth and shrink to almost nothing when cooked. The Butterball burgers don’t shrink much and actually taste like turkey.

I figure I will hit pork loins for a few months. Just as I said goodbye to eggs, then goodbye to hamburgers, I now say goodbye to turkey burgers.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/how-the-mighty-have-fallen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. And you got defensive when I pointed out the direction you were headed. At this point, it may be a much healthier path to learn how to negotiate these speed bumps as you call them rather than continually going through the dieting and overeating extremes. Diet burnout is guaranteed if you continually play the dieting games. I certainly crashed and burned at the end of last year. I had been dieting for 2 years. It helped me to stop dieting, eat mindfully,removing the extremes in eating. I practiced eating the same amount of food at each meal, no matter what it was, through the use of a small bowl and small plate. This worked for me, perhaps there is something that could work better for you than this diet/bumps in the road thing that you are doing. I expect you to get angry at me again, but I believe that sometimes a different point of view can be of value when everyone else pats you on the back and says get back on the wagon. If you keep falling off, maybe you need a new wagon.

    • Direction I’m headed? I gained a whopping 2 pounds for the month of May. You crack me up. Once again, just because you gained the weight back, it doesn’t mean other people will have your same experience. It is only normal to have a rough month at some point after 26 months.

      Have a nice day!

  2. 173.2 for official Monday weigh in.

    I’m going to say something similar to the other comments you dismissed. You are relying on a highly repetitive, tightly limited food group diet.. burn out is a big risk. I have seen a lot of coworkers lose a LOT of weight on Atkins. I’ve seen none of them keep it off (to be fair to Atkins this is true for other diets as well).
    Food for thought.

    • “to be fair to Atkins this is true for other diets as well” Correct.

      I don’t see the big deal. A bad month isn’t some shocking event to panic over when one has been on a diet for 26 months.

      I only gained 3 pounds. Not like I packed on 40.

      Plus that other poster fails to understand that I have said NUMEROUS times that Atkins is just a tool to get to my goal weight and then I need to learn to eat a more diverse menu without going overboard. I will once again reiterate that I won’t ever be north of 180 again. Well, maybe around Christmas. 😛

      It also doesn’t help that a doctor friend of mine keeps telling me to stop and get my weight back to 180. 😛

      • I’m not busting your chops really (it’s tough to convey tone on the interwebs) for May. I am busting your chops slightly for April AND May (the reason for the challenge).

        But really mostly responding to the fatigue comment. Most people seem to fall off atkins because once they shove some carbs in their mouth they can’t stop since they miss them so much (same as the shake people once they eat a morsel of real food).

        And I note how repetitive your food is when you are on track. Since you are more on maintenance than loss (cept for those few pounds 😉 ) and wondering if it’s time to find new tools for your situation.

        Heck, I’m a repetitive eater myself and I have way more variety than you appear to. It’s just my cycles tend to be over a week to two weeks.

      • Darn you for remembering April! Yeah, tone is tough to convey on the webs which is why I always use the 😀 and 😛 emoticons.

        Part of the reason the diet worked was the easy to manage repetitive nature. I know this isn’t for everyone.

        I’ve also said from day 1 that have no willpower. 😛

        Keeping food away from my apartment was a key to my success. The darn office is a new wrinkle I have been unable to figure out to this point. Some mean person brought DONUTS today. Donuts on Monday!!! I skipped em. Wasn’t too hard after my recent cheats.

      • We have weekly donuts (and fruit, but the fruit is right next to donuts). And several people are always bringing in goodies from home or trips. plus we’re on a client meeting floor so there are often leftover brownies/cookies lying around.

        So far I’ve basically implemented zero tolerance for consumption of any of these things. It’s way too easy to get into bad habits otherwise. If something is tempting me I’ll go to cafeteria and buy an apple just to eat something w/o eating the junk.

    • Oh, Kudos to kicking my tail. Once everyone posts their closing weight, I will figure out the % and crown a victor.

  3. 177.6 today. I started the month at 181.2, dropped as low as the 175s and then popped back up.

    Here’s the deal. We’re human. We’re not perfect. We can only do our best and our best may change every 15 minutes. I think it’s great that you’ve lost as much weight as you have with Atkins. An awesome achievement. I also think it’s great that people lose weight with two hours of exercise a day. That being said, it all comes down to WHATEVER WORKS FOR YOU. You are the one walking the walk, doing the work. If Atkins or a lot of exercise is how you do it, great.

    I’m trying to lose weight without cutting out beer and donuts. Slower progress, yes, but it’s what WORKS FOR ME.

    As my mother would say, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say nuthin’ at all.

    • “That being said, it all comes down to WHATEVER WORKS FOR YOU.”

      Exactly. I’ve said this a million times. I don’t force Atkins on people and it works for me. Good lord, not like I gained 30 pounds. I just had motivation problems with the contest. AND, after 26 months, most people would be sick of any diet or any lifestyle change.

      I’m fine as long as I keep posting and as long as I keep getting on that scale each day.

      Kudos to your loss and to kicking my tail. 😀

      • Finding something that works for you is in fact very important, however, it must be counterbalanced with the the lesson that those who do not learn from history are bound to repeat it. There’s truth in both statements.

        There are a million ways to lose weight – the real trick is keeping it off. And there the odds are really against everyone of us (80% failure rate). The 5 year failure rate is incredibly high. And so it’s not ‘whatever works for you’. Learn the lessons of those who succeeded or repeat the mistakes of those who didn’t.

        http://www.ajcn.org/content/82/1/222S.full
        http://obesitymanagement.com.au/media/1540/wing%20weightloss%20maintenance%202001.pdf

        So I’d rather say something than do nothing.


Leave a Reply

