Day 3

I’m on day 3 of the new diet. So far so good. I’m still doing low carb but I need to convince myself that I am starting a new diet because I keep using my past success as an excuse to eat too much. The old, heck I lost 150 pounds so it doesn’t hurt to gain 10 back mentality. I need to get rid of that mentality so I am putting my past success away and starting a new diet. šŸ˜€

I actually had a pretty good weekend on the diet front. Now if I could just have a decent week, maybe I could get the scale moving back in the right direction. I did drop a pile of water weight so I am closer to getting below my panic weight (175).

Weight Statistics

323/176.5/159.9

I wasn’t expecting a drop on the scale today, but I got one. I had a HUGE drop yesterday which is why I wasn’t expecting one today. I think that is it for the easy loss. I think I probably already kicked back into Ketosis (Atkins) so I think I have drained all the excess water out of my system.

Now comes the hard part of losing all the fat I have put back on my bones the last 3 months. I need to get back into full Atkins mode with no cheats. That means I need to skip the Wednesday lunch or only grab a salad. I also need to pay attention to hidden carbs.

Tip Of The Day

For the Low Carb Folks out there.

If you are trying to stick below 20 carbs for Atkins induction, you need to be certain you are counting all of your carbs correctly. Unfortunately, some companies lie. If the carbs are slightly under 1, they can stick zero on the packaging. Some sugar substitutes claim zero carbs but in reality they have close to 1 carb per packet. I drink lots of coffee all day and use lots of splenda or sweet N low. I used to keep a good count and limit myself to no more than 4 or 5 per day. For the last several month, I think I have probably been MUCH MUCH MUCH higher than that.Ā  So beware lying NO carb products. If the package states under 1 gram treat it like 1 gram per serving.Ā  Back to 1 packer per serving of coffee for me. šŸ˜›

Biking Update

I was saved from my Sunday ride by stormy weather with lots of lightning. That means I will need to ride my bike at least once this week when I get home from work. šŸ˜›

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Pork loin with onions and cheese

Lunch – Pork loin with onions and salad

Dinner – Pork loin with onions and cheese

Calories – 1200

I went a touch overboard on the pork loin because I was too lazy to cook some chicken. I am about to toss some chicken in the oven so I will be back to eating baked chicken tomorrow. I bought a sack of onions the last 2 trips to the store. I need to stop that because I eat too many but darn it, they taste so good grilled with olive oil and dumped on top of chicken or pork. šŸ˜›

I have a couple of onions to go but once they are gone I will not replenish the supply at the store. šŸ˜›

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow,

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/day-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Good for you! Back on Track! I think I use too much Equal. I have 3-4 cups of coffee/day and use 2 pack per cup. That’s bad, right? I know diet drinks are bad, so I guess Equal is, too? Mmaybe green tea with 1 equal per cup would be better. But I LOVE my coffee. I’ll try the change and see if it makes any difference.

    Roasted Asparagus: Set Oven to 400
    Get some fresh asparagus – snap off the bottoms –
    Drizzle with plenty of olive oil
    4. Toss asparagus spears to coat in olive oil
    5. Spread them out on baking tray evenly
    6. Sprinkle sea salt (or kosher salt) on asparagus
    7. Grind pepper over aspargus
    8. Sprinkle bits of chopped garlic over asparagus
    9. Stick in the oven and cook for about 10-15 minutes
    I usually let them cook until the asparagus is sizzling in the oil and there’s a bit of browning. If you like yours a little crisper, you can take them out after they’ve turned bright green.


Leave a Reply

