Minefield Wednesday

Wednesday donuts! Who the heck had the bright idea to grab 2 boxes of donuts on Free Lunch Wednesday? 😀

I made it through the first minefield unscathed. With only 2 boxes, they were gone pretty quickly. In fact by my second cup of coffee they were gone so the temptation wasn’t around for very long.

Then the free lunch arrived. It was a fairly healthy lunch. Hamburger steak or baked chicken with salad. I grabbed one piece of hamburger steak with salad. That is actually the best I have done with the hamburger steak lunch. Even when I was in the office competition I think I ate at least 2 pieces and I have had as many as four. So I made it through lunch and there were NO LEFTOVERS so I couldn’t raid the kitchen later in the day. 😀

On top of the free lunch we had a seminar today. I had a tray of ham and roast beef poboys plunked down on the conference room table next to me. The guys giving the presentation brought a giant vat of banana pudding with nilla wafers. 😛

I made it through the presentation without any problems. The poboys were cold so not much of a temptation for me. Hot roast beef and gravy, yes. Cold = zero temptation.  On the other hand, I wanted to gobble down that pudding.  That took some willpower to avoid.

So there you have it. I made it through a day FILLED with temptation. Oh, I forgot the normal afternoon popcorn hour. That smelled pretty good today but I stayed away. 😛

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Pork loin with onions and cheese

Lunch – Hamburger steak and salad

Dinner – Baked chicken with salad

Snack – None

Calories – 1500

Definitely the best Wednesday I have had in a long time. I wish I could stir up another office Weight Competition but it won’t happen. People seem to be tired of Gail beating them every year, BUT…. Gail couldn’t win a Summer competition. She is too thin. She has nothing left to lose. 😛

Weight Statistics

323/174.6/159.9

Back below my old panic weight. Short-lived. Even though my calories were in check, I am sure the sodium bomb will blow me up tomorrow. 😛

I need to get back below my new panic weight (170). It has been a long time since I was consistently under 170. One day at a time. I got through today. Hopefully, I won’t have as many temptations to dance around tomorrow.

Tip Of The Day

Sometimes you have to just tighten the proverbial belt.

You can’t always avoid temptations. I try but work really doesn’t let me hide from evil tasty food. It’s a diet, if it was easy we would all look like flag poles. 😛

Some days will be hard. Tighten up that belt!

The Grumpy Man

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/minefield-wednesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wonder when was the turning point for the workplace to become so deeply embedded in a food culture? I do remember a time when the coffee break meant a cup of coffee and a cigarette,lunch meant a sandwich and an apple, and there wasn’t any donuts, bagels, muffins in the office, nor all the potlucks, picnics and such. It seems that all started in the 1990’s as office perks or something. Definitely has gotten out of hand. I know at least in the 1960’s and 70’s we couldn’t eat anything at our desks, meetings did not have food present, only coffee and we never carried water around as though we were walking through a desert. I wonder when businesses are going to realize what they may be putting their employees through with all the food they present?

  2. I agree! Your workplace is like a RESTAURANT on WHEELS! I have NEVER worked anywhere where FOOD was offered EVERY DAY in EVERY WAY! You should try and start a “Healthy Lunch” Campaign! So much food (and SWEETS) slow down work productivity! Who’s idea WAS this…..could it possible be……………………………………SATAN!!??!!


Leave a Reply

