Free Lunch Wednesday!

So far, this week has been temptation free. The grazing table has been empty. There was a king cake on the table Monday morning but it was gone before it had a chance to tempt me. All I saw was the wrapper.  I think it lasted about 15 minutes.  No other temptations until today.

This is a pic of the  remains of the Italian Feast around 1:00pm. Meatballs and spaghetti along with some lasagna and garlic bread.

I was able to stay away from the food although the smell of the garlic bread almost got me.  I did notice several Biggest Loser contestants loading up on meatballs and lasagna.   The scale will be rude to them tomorrow. That food is LOADED with salt. Even if they kept their calories in check, the sodium will cause a water gain tomorrow.

Along with the free lunch, I had other lunch time temptations.  I set up a Lunch & Learn which means we also had sandwiches.

I sat in a chair as far away from the sandwiches as possible so the cookie monster side of my brain couldn’t grab any. I didn’t.

I’ve been near flawless now for 21 days. I was hoping for a bigger loss this week but it doesn’t look like it is going to happen.

Weight Statistics

help-weight-scale-thumb6950860

Monday – 187.2

Tuesday – 187.4

Wednesday

323/187.7/175 Re-fattening Peak – 206
Contest Starting Weight {office scale} – 200.2
Current Weight {office scale} – 191.6
Current Competition Loss – 8.6
Day 21 of 90
Yesterday’s Calorie Count – 1650

Flawless Days – 18

I wasn’t happy when I stepped on the scale this morning. I had a little bounce up. It looks like Monday is going to be my low weight for the week even though I have behaved the rest of the week.  I was hoping to break below 187 but that isn’t going to happen without a miracle.

Recent Menu

Monday – 1425 calories

Tuesday – 1650 calories

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Pork loin with cheese

Lunch – None

Dinner – Hamburger with salad

Snacks – Almonds

Calories – 1200

The almond snacks have actually worked out pretty good to this point. I’ve been able to keep from devouring all of them.  I think Pistachios would be gone by now, but I still have half of the almonds left.

The Bike

It has been ages since my last ride. I might jump on the bike to try to squeeze out some additional water before the Thursday weigh-in. I was hoping for a 2.5 pound loss on the office scale but I am not even close at the moment.

I guess we shall see tomorrow. Wish me luck. I hope the front runners didn’t continue their torrid pace.

Happy dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The Grumpy Man

Published in: on January 23, 2013 at 8:00 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/free-lunch-wednesday-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heh. I’ll be chowing down on the Italian Feast Friday night. Gotta carbo load for Saturday morning. I’ll be skipping the bread, though. You ain’t kidding about the salt, though. I’m always amazed at how much of it winds up in spaghetti sauce. Ordered a baked ziti from one of our local Italian places, and my tongue practically burned from the sodium…

    • The place we get the free lunch from always loads everything with sodium. I’ve gained weight after eating the baked chicken and salad because of the monstrous amounts of sodium.

      I know some people say you get used to less salt but after almost 3 years, I still love the salt. 😦

      The meatballs and hamburger steak are the worst. I need to drink a gallon of water after eating those. Almost as bad as hitting a Chinese buffet.

      • LOL! I grew up adding salt to everything. Soy sauce found its way into many servings of vegetables. Heck, I used to suck on chicken and beef bouillon cubes as a kid. So, I know the feeling…

        And, while I’ve been reading labels for years, I’ve been noticing how more and more sodium is finding its way into processed foods. It’s gotten to the point that you can’t pick up anything in a grocery store and not find at least a trace of sodium added to it. Doesn’t matter what it is; salt is almost always one of the ingredients added.

        So, having recently been told that I need to do something about my blood pressure (Pre-Hypertension), I’ve really been trying to get my electrolytes in order. That means less sodium and more of the others (Potassium, Magnesium, Calcium). Doesn’t mean I don’t miss it, but it does mean that I’ve become much more sensitive to it.

        Fortunately, Potassium Chloride is close enough in taste that I can get the potassium that I need and counter the sodium intake. But, it is a challenge…

  2. Grumps just keep pressin in … I tell you this as I jump through insane hoops to make mine go down. After a year of never moving down only inching up I took drastic measures.


Leave a Reply

