Boom! Atkins!

I don’t like to push Atkins too much. Don’t want to scare off the people stuck believing 40-year-old data, but BOOM GOES THE DYNAMITE! After only one day, I dropped a ton. Now this has a lot to do with my sodium level being MUCH higher on my carb diet than on Atkins. I was around 3500 mgs on Tuesday night, then I finished up around 1300 yesterday. ย It is much easier to manage my sodium on Atkins.

Weight Statistics

323/168.7/165

A huge drop after just one day. Absolute proof that Atkins is a supreme natural diuretic. I know that big loss was mostly or all water but it is still nice seeing a big drop on the scale. Tomorrow could be a bounce up because 3.5 pounds in one day seems crazy.

Heck, with a real good weekend I might be able to get back to my low sometime next week. Not sure what my plans are once I hit the low. I’ve never tried Atkins maintenance so maybe I might give it a try.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty and cheese

Lunch – Broiled chicken and salad

Dinner – Tuna and salad

Snack – Turkey bacon. Turkey bacon.

Calories – 1200

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1200

I ate fewer calories than my carb diet yet I wasn’t dying of hunger. Good old Atkins. The turkey bacon really wasn’t bad. The pieces are slightly bigger than bacon and lower in sodium. Certainly not as good as bacon but I am trying to find ways to cut sodium again.

Biking Update

I didn’t get home from the job interview until too late to head out on the bike. ย Doesn’t look like I am going to get 4 rides in this week. Oh well. ๐Ÿ˜›

I thought about heading out for a Thursday ride then thought better of it. This is my guilt free always off day. ๐Ÿ˜€

I had a nice relaxing day giving my knees a break.

Tip Of The Day

This tip is for the heavy-duty exercise crowd. ย Sometimes you need to take a break. Give those muscles time to heal as well as your brain. The mental and physical stress of going overboard everyday can cause burnout.

Make sure you take a couple of days off each week to give your body and mind time to heal. ๐Ÿ˜€

As all my loyal readers know, I am against heavy exercise while dieting but I know some people can pull it off. I never could. I would train like crazy for two months and quit the gym and the diet. As I said, I know some people can pull it off, but I would wager the vast majority of us end up going overboard with exercise just like we did with eating and then after a short time we burn out.

For the heavy exercise crowd, make sure you at least take some time to rest up and recharge the batteries. For those just starting out, move slowly into exercise. This really is an area where slow and steady wins the race. ๐Ÿ˜€

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

The Grumpy Man

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/boom-atkins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have been beating myself up for not exercising like a mad-woman. It’s refreshing to see that maybe I’m not sabotaging myself…? ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    • As long as you are sticking to your diet and have a decent caloric deficit, you are not sabotaging yourself. I did almost ZERO exercise in the first year of my diet and lost over 100 pounds. For a brief period, I walked two miles a day in September 2010. That didn’t last long because I hate walking which is what prompted me to buy the bike in March 2011.

      Of course, exercise makes us healthier, but exercise plus diet can be more than some people can handle which leads to the end of the exercise and the diet. So don’t beat yourself up. Slow and steady really can win this race.

    • Girl — move but don’t over do. I LOVE mega exercise, but I don’t lose if I over do. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You know I love my mega exercise — but can’t do it right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    So cool how this stuff works for you. Wish it did for me. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a comment