Safari Saturday

Biking Update

I needed to get my 20 mile ride done yesterday so I decided to try a really early morning ride. I was up at 5:30am and out the door at 6:00am.

What a difference the hour makes. There was wildlife all over the levee.

First up was a snake. I only caught sight of it out of the corner of my eye so I have no idea what it was. Then a big turtle went scrambling down the levee into the water.

There was a gigantic hawk or hawk like looking bird hanging out next to the path and he wasn’t the least bit interested or afraid of me as I passed by him.

He looked a lot like this one only bigger and angrier that I was interrupting his morning.

A big owl swooped over the levee. Birds were all over the place. The river has been dropping and bait fish are now trapped in small pools. Easy pickings for lots of different birds.

Lots of squirrels were out and about foraging as was Peter rabbit.

As I passed the helicopter pad near the bridge an armadillo waddled out of the bushes.

It was definitely an interesting trip. The wind wasn’t bad but it was HOT by the time I was headed back home. Good thing I had my trusty water bottle.

Army Corp Building – 20 miles

Weight Statistics

323/181/173

With a miracle, I might be able to get back to my low tomorrow just in time to have a big breakfast and knock myself off of my low weight. 😛

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Broiled chicken & salad

Lunch – Avocado salad

Dinner – Red fish and salad

Snack – Broiled chicken, string cheese

Calories -1680

A little higher than normal on the calories but I burned about 900 on the bike ride so net calories I was under 800.

Tomorrow is going to be a pain. I will be cooking eggs, hash browns, grits, sausage and biscuits for father’s day. Hopefully, I can behave but the outlook is grim. 😀

Tip Of The Day

Sometimes you are going to have to tighten the belt and be miserable. Tomorrow is one of those days for me.  I’ve already had a few cheats this month and my weight has been stalled because of it. I don’t want a third cheat in 3 weeks, so tomorrow I have to break out Mr. Willpower and I need to behave.

A diet can’t be wine and roses all the time. 😀

Sometimes, it is best to avoid temptation if you are feeling weak.

I can’t avoid Father’s Day so I will just have to gut it out and try my best to avoid the biscuits, grits and hash browns. I might even bring some chicken or a salad to keep me from straying.

I know I say that cheats now and then are fine, but they have been a lot more NOW than THEN recently so tomorrow is a cheat free day. Wish me luck. 😛

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

 

 

The Grumpy Man