Afraid To Look!

I was a bit afraid to look at the scale this morning. I was unsure if the scale would continue to climb upwards to the moon or if it would start to head back down.

I figured the upward trend had to stop and the 42 visits to the facilities last night had me thinking the scale just might head in the right direction this morning.

Whoosh!!!

Weight Statistics

323/174.2/165

Woot! I feel like dancing. I knew the 14 pounds had to be a big pile of water and off went about 6 pounds this morning. Β I would imagine the weight loss will slow after a huge loss like that. Β The free-for-all grazing table didn’t help matters….

Grazing Update

I started out doing a good job walking past the grazing table but by the end of the afternoon the score was 3-0 in favor of the Grazing table.

A cookie, a brownie and some fudge somehow found its way into my mouth. πŸ˜›

Oh well, the rest of my meals were fine.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Turkey burger with cheese

Lunch – Sweets from the grazing table

Dinner – Baked chicken with salad

Calories – 1750

A little higher than I wanted the calories to be and all of that sugar will keep me from hitting ketosis anytime soon. 😦

I need to get away from the darn sweets because eating carbs only makes you crave even more carbs.

I would like to avoid the kitchen but that isn’t going to happen. I need to use the copy room right next to the kitchen. I also need my 34 cups of coffee to make it through the day.

Hopefully the Christmas candy, cakes and other assorted confections run out soon. πŸ˜€

I need to learn to say no to Wonka Bars!

Tip Of The Day

With the new year approaching, I am sure there will be many New Years Resolutioners flooding the internet.

With that in mind, here are my standard tips to start a diet.

1. Check with your doctor. I’m sure the doc will say to get on with it, but first make sure you aren’t constrained Β by health issues.

2. Research diets online and pick one that you really think you can stick with. If you are miserable 100% of the time, you will not make it. You need to find a happy medium between losing weight but doing it in a way that doesn’t make you unhappy all the time.

3. Start a food, calorie, weight and exercise journal. You need to be able to see what works and what doesn’t work and a journal will help.

4. Seek online support. It is all over the place on the internet and the best support comes from people going through the same pain in the keister.

5. Weigh yourself at LEAST once a week. I just read some stupid article that said you should not get hung up on the scale. WTH??? You need to be able to gauge your results and the scale is the only way to do it. If your diet isn’t working, you need to know that and you need to make adjustments.

6. Measure everything and read all labels. You need to know the caloric intake to know if you are actually operating on deficit calories.

7. Exercise is fine, BUT DON”T OVER DO IT! We tend to go overboard when we start diets and this leads to burn out. Take things very very very very very very very slowly. I did almost ZERO exercise the first year of my diet and I still lost over 100 pounds.

8. Always have a shopping list and never shop hungry.

9. Use smaller plates when eating.

10. Don’t take yourself too seriously and don’t rush the diet. Just do the best you can each day and one day you will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/afraid-to-look/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your images, very entertaining!

  2. congrats on the pile of water πŸ˜‰

    http://100in2012.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks πŸ˜€

      Congratulations on starting a new healthier lifestyle. πŸ˜€


Leave a comment