The Grazing Man Cometh……

Just call me the grazing man. After an absence of naught treats on the table on Wednesday, sweet delights returned on Thursday. The darn cinnamon sugar cookies got me. Grazing Table – 3, Grumpy Man – 0!

The office lunch was today. The good news is that I ate some chicken and sausage with a salad. The bad news is that it was loaded with salt and of course those cookies will once again keep me out of induction.

Weight Statistics

323/171.9/165

No movement this morning. I was expecting a stall after dropping almost 9 pounds in two days. I am expecting a gain tomorrow with the food I ate coupled with the big sodium influx.

I have plans for New Years Eve so that is another bad night plus New Years Day won’t be much better. Looks like I won’t be under 170 until the New Year. Hopefully I can at least stay under the panic weight of 175.  Depends on the damage tomorrow.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Turkey Burger with cheese

Lunch – Baked Chicken & sausage with salad

Dinner – Turkey burger with cheese

Snack – Cinnamon sugar cookies

Beware the Pillsbury Doughboy. He is evil!!! 😛

Calories – 2200 or somewhere in that ballpark.

Tip Of The Day

Until January 5th, I will be repeating the long list of start-up tips so that any newcomers will be able to see my guide to getting started. I will try to add 1 new tip each day to the list.

My pal over at TestingTrueChange set me straight about tip  6. I mistakenly said a scale was the only way to measure progress which of course it is not. Along with the scale you should take body measurements. I didn’t do this and I wish that I had done it. There will come a time when you do EVERYTHING to perfection yet the weight does not drop off. This will happen a lot to people who work out and exercise a lot as they drop fat and add muscle. So being able to check measurements can confirm your progress even when the scale refuses to acknowledge your hard work.

1. Check with your doctor. I’m sure the doc will say to get on with it, but first make sure you aren’t constrained  by health issues.

2. Research diets online and pick one that you really think you can stick with. If you are miserable 100% of the time, you will not make it. You need to find a happy medium between losing weight but doing it in a way that doesn’t make you unhappy all the time.

3. Clean out the fridge and pantry of all bad food. THROW IT AWAY! Do not wait until you finish all of the bad food to start the diet. Get rid of it now!

4. Start a food, calorie, weight and exercise journal. You need to be able to see what works and what doesn’t work and a journal will help.

5. Seek online support. It is all over the place on the internet and the best support comes from people going through the same pain in the keister.

6. Weigh yourself at LEAST once a week. I just read some stupid article that said you should not get hung up on the scale. WTH??? You need to be able to gauge your results and the scale is the only way to do it. If your diet isn’t working, you need to know that and you need to make adjustments.

6. B. Take body measurements. You might not want to do this at the start but those measurements will be a source of inspiration at a later date and they will soothe your soul when the scale refuses to budge even though you are doing everything right.

7. Measure everything and read all labels. You need to know the caloric intake to know if you are actually operating on deficit calories.

8. Exercise is fine, BUT DON”T OVER DO IT! We tend to go overboard when we start diets and this leads to burn out. Take things very very very very very very very slowly. I did almost ZERO exercise the first year of my diet and I still lost over 100 pounds.

9. Always have a shopping list and never shop hungry.

10. Use smaller plates when eating.

11. Don’t take yourself too seriously and don’t rush the diet. Just do the best you can each day and one day you will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I wish the grazing table was loaded with leftover fruitcake….

Happy dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/the-grazing-man-cometh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your line about the evil Pillsbury dough boy, with that picture! There is a wicked commercial that has been running around here where they wrap this brie wheel in crescent roll … why that looks so tasty I don’t know. EVIL DOUGH BOY is right.

  2. Haha love it Grumpy Man! I do agree that the scale is an important measure, it helped make weight loss a competition which if you know me was vital to some of my success!!

  3. The scale is a quick and easy way to check progress and do are measurements but I also think how you feel, energy levels, sleeping regularly, regularity, is just as an important an indicator. Being aware of physical health is key too! Happy New Year for the girl who has lost 100+ pounds 😉


Leave a comment