Happy Thursday

Weight Statistics

323/188.6/185

Yay me! Another new low and now just 3 pounds from being in the upper level of my ideal weight range. As I said before, I plan to lower my goal weight once I finally hit 185. I want to get somewhere in the middle of my ideal BMI weight range.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Red beans and sausage

Lunch – Hamburger patty with cheese and salad

Dinner – Tuna with avocados

Snack – Red beans

Calories – 1400

Many of you often question me on my crazy menu and repetition. For most of the last year, I have been doing a low carb Atkins style diet. Lately, I’ve been eating way too many beans to call it a low carb diet.  I was going to tone that down for this meal plan, but I didn’t. I do plan to get back to low carb next time I hit the store.

As to the repetition, it is easy. That’s why I do that. Crock pot. Boom! 10 Tupperware containers. Boom! Done and done. Some in the fridge and some in the freezer. Boom!

I hate cleaning pots and pans over and over and over and over and over and over….you get it. So I just made the diet and the clean up as easy as possible so it doesn’t cause any additional hassle which could lead to me quitting. I’ve quit in the past because I made things too difficult.

This time I followed the kiss principle. Keep It Simple, Stupid. 😀

I did keep it simple. I have a meal plan that is easy to cook, clean up and purchase. I do from time to time get sick of what I am eating and I switch it up a bit.

Chicken has yet to make a return to my menu although I can see it re-entering the meal plan in the next few weeks.

I used to eat eggs and bacon for breakfast, but now I can’t stand the sight of eggs.  They have been banished from my kingdom with little chance of return.  I really like the tuna and avocados which replaced the eggs, so they may not be heard from again.

Hamburger has been a staple for just about the whole year. Once I am done with the diet, you don’t have to worry about me running off  to the  McDonald’s for a burger . I’m more than a little sick of eating burgers patties.

In summary, yes I get tired of my menu but I hate cleaning up even more so for me an easy to cook and clean up repetitive menu helped keep me on this diet for over a year.

Not that I would advise anyone else to go this route, but it is the only route that would work for me.

Biking Update

Not too bad today. The wind shifted and the first 3 miles were easy. Of course that means the last 3 miles were hard, but I seem to do better when I get hit by the wind on the way back.

Actually, the wind was not nearly as bad on Wednesday as it has been the last few weeks. There was still a pretty steady breeze but it felt more like 5-10 mph instead of the usual 10-20 mph.

Oh, the morning dawn ride somehow turned into a late afternoon dusk ride. Not sure how. 😛

Road Marker 210 – 10 miles

Tip Of The Day

Find what works for you. 😀

I give tips and advice all the time but that doesn’t mean any of it will work for you. My advice can be used as a starting point but at the end of the day you need to find a plan that works best for you and that you can tolerate enough to stay with it as long as you have to remain on the diet.

I imagine some people wouldn’t last a week with my repetitive diet. I am sure there are other tips I give that wouldn’t work for you.

My diet worked because I shaped the plan around my personality and adapted it to the point I could tolerate the diet and  exercise. You need to do the same thing.

Of course the diet does need to be healthy and you do need to cut calories and move around more. As I said above you need to KISS(Keep It Simple Stupid). A chart of your diet should NOT look like this:

Keep it simple stupid. 😀 and NO,  I don’t want any of you trying out the junk food diet or the Twinkie diet. 😛

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.


The Grumpy Man