Memorial Day Monday


Happy Memorial Day.  Try not to go too crazy if you attend a BBQ.

Weight Statistics

323/181.6/173

The bounce up was due to too much salt and too much nibbling late night. I had a hamburger patty snack at 11pm. I need to stop that. I’ve been doing too much late night nibbling lately.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Hamburger patty with cheese slice

Lunch – Tuna with avocados and salad

Dinner – Chicken salad

Snack – String cheese, avocado, salad, hamburger patty and cheese slice

Calories – 1750

Biking Update

My legs weren’t up to the task yesterday. I just couldn’t get enough energy going to get my legs moving towards the levee. I am hoping to get a long ride in today but it is SOOOOOOOOO HOT OUT THERE.

Last summer I gave up exercise because of the heat. I don’t want to do that this year, but I might lower the number of rides per week. Not sure what to do, but I don’t want the heat burning me out.

Aquarium Update

Requiem For A Ghost Shrimp

Water crashing down

To jump and swim is freedom

Darkness has come again

It appears Sole Survivor is no longer with us. I haven’t spotted him in about 3 days so Blutto must have got him when he came out of the coral cave to eat.  Mean old Blutto just couldn’t play nice.

Tip Of The Day

Plateaus

Get used to them. They will happen. They can vary in length from a few days to a few weeks.

Over the past 20 years I have dieted numerous times. Usually once or twice a year. My most successful diets would always end at 230. For some reason my body would always hit a MAJOR plateau at that weight.  In the past, I always let the plateaus win. I would get so frustrated that I would eventually cave in and toss in the towel.

Don’t you dare do that. 😛

Don’t let the plateau win. Here is a list of things to do when on a plateau:

1. Analyze your diet. A food log is super important and during a plateau, you can look over that food journal to determine if you are eating too many calories.

2.Support Groups. During a plateau, support is tremendously important. You need a place to vent your frustration and anger amongst people who understand what you are dealing with.  I vent on a football forum that has a weight loss thread and it helps me a lot.

3.Exercise – Are you getting any? Are you getting too much? Just remember that if you are working out a lot, you are replacing fat with heavier muscle.  The scale will not move while you do this. It might even creep up some. You are getting healthier, but it is still frustrating when the scale won’t move.

4.Shock the system. Perhaps you have been doing such a great job with your calorie count, your body has adjusted a bit to the lower calories. Many people will suggest a cheat to get things moving again.  I have done this when stuck on long plateaus but it hasn’t always worked great for me. You will end up gaining weight that could take a while to get back off. I would use this as a last resort AND don’t use any gain from this step as an excuse to toss in the towel or binge for more than one meal.

5.Remember. Rome wasn’t built-in a day. It didn’t take you one month to pack the weight on so it is going to take time, patience, hard work and lots of patience. 😛  Yeah I know I mentioned it twice. Patience is necessary for a long-term diet. Lots and lots and lots of patience.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow,

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man